Examination Support

IB Diploma Programme

The International Baccalaureate® (IB) Diploma Programme (DP) is for students aged 16-19.

Find out more about the DP, including information on pathways to university and employment and on who can offer the programme.

What is the DP?

Research suggests that there are many benefits to choosing the DP. The programme aims to develop students who have excellent breadth and depth of knowledge – students who flourish physically, intellectually, emotionally and ethically.

The DP curriculum

The DP curriculum is made up six subject groups and the DP core, comprising theory of knowledge (TOK), creativity, activity, service (CAS) and the extended essay.

Through the DP core, students reflect on the nature of knowledge, complete independent research and undertake a project that often involves community service.

Assessment and exams

The International Baccalaureate® (IB) assesses student work as direct evidence of achievement against the stated goals of the Diploma Programme (DP) courses.

There is information on getting results, including information on how to request that an exam is remarked.

Who is the DP for?

The DP is open to any student aged 16 to 19, at schools that have been authorized to implement the programme.

Website: IBO        – http://www.ibo.org/

Cambridge International Examinations

Cambridge International Examinations (CIE) are a provider of international qualifications, offering examinations and qualifications in more than 160 countries. Qualifications offered by CIE include: Cambridge International General Certificate of Education – Advanced Level (Cambridge International GCE A-Levels), the AICE Diploma (Advanced International Certificate of Education Diploma), the Cambridge Pre-U programme, IGCSEs and Key Stage examinations for primary and secondary schools across the globe.[1] The examination board is a division of Cambridge Assessment,[2] founded in 1858 as a department of the University of Cambridge.

CIE offer examinations and qualifications, which are open to students at registered CIE centres.

CIE delivers the Cambridge IGCSE (the international variant of the British GCSE qualification) for an international student body. They provide a wide variety of subjects:[3] for example, in addition to examinations in what might be regarded as core subjects, examinations are available in a number of first languages, additional mathematics, additional combined science and many other subjects.

Cambridge International AS and A Levels are available in a choice of 55 different subjects. Cambridge International A Level is typically a two-year course, and Cambridge International AS level is typically one year. Some subjects can be started as a Cambridge International AS Level and extended to a Cambridge International A Level.

CIE qualifications are recognised for admission by UK universities (including Cambridge) as well as universities in the United States, Canada, European Union, Middle East, West Asia, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and around the world.

Website: IGCSE-  http://www.cie.org.uk/

Chartered Financial Analyst

The Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) Program is a professional credential offered internationally by the American-based CFA Institute (formerly the Association for Investment Management and Research, or AIMR) to investment and financial professionals.[1] A candidate who successfully completes the program and meets other professional requirements is awarded the “CFA charter” and becomes a “CFA charterholder”.

As of July 2014, there are approximately 120,000 CFA members in 35 countries. The largest employers of CFA Charterholders are JP Morgan, UBS, Bank of America Merrill Lynch, and RBC.[2]

The CFA exams are widely considered to be extremely difficult,[3][4] with pass rates sometimes below 50% for each of the three levels.[5] It covers a broad range of topics relating to investment management, financial analysis, stocks, bonds and derivatives, and provides a generalist knowledge of other areas of finance.

The CFA Charter – although a professional, as opposed to academic credential – is benchmarked as comparable to a Master’s Degree by UK NARIC.[6] [7]

Website: CFA- https://www.cfainstitute.org/

Approved Calculator List